Skip Navigation LinksHome > About Us > Departments > Oil and Gas

Oil and Gas


 Oil and Gas Dept

The Oil & Gas Department has responsibility for implementation of policies of the National Council on Privatisation (NCP) through the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE) in the Oil and Gas sector. The department oversees the reforms and the privatisation of enterprises in the oil and gas sector of the country.
The department is comprised of three units:
1.    Refineries and Petrochemicals;
2.    Nigeria Gas Company (NGC) and Oil Services Companies(OSCs); and
3.    Pipelines and Products Marketing Company (PPMC)
Enterprises In The Department
1.    Oil Marketing Companies
a.    African Petroleum Plc (AP Plc)
b.    Unipetrol Nigeria Plc (now Oando Plc)
c.    National Oil and Chemical Marketing Company (Now ConOil Plc)
2.    West Africa Refinery Company in Sierra Leone (WARCO)
3.    Eleme Petrochemical Company Limited (EPCL)
4.    Calabar Liquefied Petroleum Gas Company
5.    Eight (8) Oil Service Companies (OSC)
a.    Baroid  Drilling Chemical Products Limited
b.    Baroid of Nigeria Limited
c.    Dowell Schlumberger Limited
d.    M-l Nigeria Limited
e.    Solus Schall Nigeria Limited
f.     Sedos Forex Nigeria Limited
g.    Schlumberger Testing & Production Services Limited
h.    Baker Forex Nigeria Limited
6.    Stallion Property & Development Company
These enterprises listed above have been privatised. However, the following enterprises are yet to be privatised:
7.    Refineries
    1. Warri Refining & Petrochemical Company Limited (WRPC)
    2. Kaduna Refining & Petrochemical Company Limited (KRPC)
    3. Port Harcourt (1&11) Refining Company Limited (PHRC)
  1. Pipelines & Products Marketing Company  Limited (PPMC)
  1. Nigerian Gas Company Limited (NGC)