Skip Navigation LinksHome > About Us > National Council on Privatisation

National Council on Privatisation


Professor Yemi Osinbajo - Vice-President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Chairman, National Council on Privatization

The National Council on Privatisation (NCP) is the apex body charged with the overall responsibility of formulating and approving policies on privatisation and commercialisation.

·     To determine the political, economic and social objectives of privatization and commercialization of public enterprises. 

·     To approve policies on privatization and commercialization.

·     To approve guidelines and criteria for valuation of public enterprises for privatization and choice of strategic investors.

·     To approve the legal and regulatory framework for the public enterprises to be privatized.

·     To determine the mode of sale of shares of a listed public enterprise and to advise the Federal Government accordingly.

·     To approve the prices of shares or assets of the public enterprise to be offered for sale.

·     To approve the appointment of privatization advisers and consultants and their remuneration.

·     To appoint as and when necessary Committees comprising persons from both the public and private sectors with requisite   

         technical   competence to advise on the privatization or commercialization of specific public sector enterprises.

·         To approve the budget of the Council.

·         To approve the budget of the Bureau.

 ·        To receive and consider for approval audited accounts of the Bureau.

·         To receive and review periodic reports from the Bureau on programme implementation and give appropriate directions.

Committees and Sub-Committees of the NCP
In order to effectively carry out its mandate, the NCP has established a number of committees to assist it in the management of the privatization process.
The standing committees are:
Technical Committee
Policy and Monitoring Committee
Publicity/Mobilisation & Transactions Marketing Committee
Finance Committee
The Legal Committee