Skip Navigation LinksHome >

1. The reforms and privatization activities of the BPE in the Steel and Solid Minerals Sector commenced with the inauguration of the Solid Minerals Sector Steering Committee (SMSSC) in September 2000 by the National Council on Privatisation (NCP). The Steering Committee headed by the then Honourable Minister of Mines and Steel Development produced a Solid Minerals Sector Policy and a draft of the Mining and Minerals Act for the National Assembly’s deliberation and passage into Law. In 2007, the Act was subsequently enacted by both Houses of the National Assembly and assented to by Mr. President. The intention of the Government was to allow the Ministry of Mines and Steel Development (MMSD) to focus solely on its role as policy administrator/regulator, while the private sector will act as owner-operator so as to facilitate rapid growth of the mineral sector in the economy.
2.  Overview of Enterprises Privatized in the Sector
The Bureau privatized the following enterprises in the Sector during the period 2005-2007:
         i.            Nigeria Mining Corporation (NMC): The BPE privatized 5 brick companies, 2 quarries, and 11    
                         mineral titles, while 8 minerals titles were returned to the Mining Cadastre Office.
       ii.              Nigerian Coal Corporation (NCC): The Bureau has also concessioned 3 coal blocks –Okaba; 
                          Ogboyega1 & Ogboyega11, Kogi State.
      iii.              Steel Sector: The BPE has privatized the Aluminium Smelter Company (ALSCON) at Ikot
                          Abasi, Akwa Ibom State; Delta Steel Company Ltd, Warri, Delta State; and three (3) Inland
                          Rolling Mills at Katsina, Jos and Oshogbo.
3.  Overview of Enterprises Awaiting Privatization in the Sector

The BPE is currently working to privatize the following enterprises in the sector:

         i.            NMC:  Two (2) burnt bricks companies at Maiduguri, Borno State and Jos, Plateau State, 3 

                        quarries and 40 Joint Venture and Associated Companies of the NMC are being prepared for 


       ii.            NCC: Six (6) coal blocks namely Ogwashi-Azagba, Delta State, Inyi, Amasiodo, Okpara and
                       Onyeama in Enugu State are currently being prepared for privatization.